Failure: A Necessary Part of Success

Orrin Woodward posted a great blog article on failure as it relates to success. Most people believe that success and failure are at opposite ends of the spectrum. You either succeed, or you fail. But the reality is that the road to success is paved with failures. You show me someone who has success in life and I’ll show you someone who has failed…the bigger the success, the more failures encountered.

The way I was taught in school was to learn and study a lesson and then take a test to determine what we learned. The result of that test would then determine whether I succeeded or failed that lesson. After the test was administered and the grade recorded, we would then move on to the next lesson and do it all over again. All subjects throughout my entire academic career utilized this process to ultimately determine whether you were a “good” student or a “bad” student. This repetitive process over 19 years of my life become the way I viewed things…you were either a success, or a failure. But since joining LIFE TEAM, I have learned that in order to succeed, you must be willing to fail. Just because you failed at something you tried in life, doesn’t mean you are a failure in life. All it means is what you tried didn’t work…try again. Use your failure as a life lesson to learn from and move on. Remember, you only are a failure when you quit and don’t try again. I love Thomas Edison’s attitude when inventing the light bulb and people criticized him for failing 200 times. He simply responded by saying, “I haven’t failed 200 times, I have just found 200 ways it won’t work.” Here’s my question to you…Are you willing to fail 200 times to find the one way that will work? I hope so! I know that Orrin Woodward was willing to fail as many times as it took to succeed because he knew that God had a purpose for him and that if he stayed consistent and persistent, God would honor his commitment. Here’s Orrin’s article:

“What separates the many from the few in leadership? Simply put, leaders learn from failures while most avoid them. Sadly, when a person avoids failure, he also misses the “teachable moments” needed in order to grow. Chris Brady and my #1 Wall Street Journal Best Seller, Launching a Leadership Revolution, covers the principles of the learning through the Five Levels of Influence.

Surprisingly, the biggest success is typically the one who has failed the most. The faster a person can go from principle understood to principle applied, the faster he or she becomes a leader. For example, what makes the LIFE community so valuable is the fact that people can learn leadership and then apply the principles immediately within the community. The greatest principles of leadership are practically worthless unless a person has a community in which to apply them.

LIFE provides both the leadership principles and a community for people to practice application. If a person does his best and fails, it isn’t an issue, since everyone is failing and learning continuously. Do you have a community that provides a grace filled environment to apply your leadership?

LIFE provides a safe environment to listen, apply, and fail, so a person can ultimately learn. What are you waiting for? Stop avoiding failures and start learning from them. Here is a video segment describing the process. Sincerely, Orrin Woodward”

Your future awaits, go fail your way to success and go get it!

God bless and have a great day, Eric C. Blomdahl

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tammy Maney on February 16, 2012 at 2:58 pm

    I love this article Eric! Soooo true,too maney people get down on themslves when they fail or believe they are not good at something. The reality is as we focus on our strengths and work on our weaknesses, there is nothing that can stop us moving forward in any area of our life. I say bring on the failure’s! What does Orrin say, “Fail your way right to the top” Get up, brush yourself off, learn from it and move on!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Don Fallis on February 16, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    Eric: If I could borrow a thought from Ed Zentner, When I graduated from High School the training that I had would last for many years. In my case, it lasted nearly 20 years. It was after about 20 years of being out of school, that I realized that the information that I had received was no longer working. The landscape was different and my map for success was no longer accurate. That was indeed true of that time, but today it does not even last 5 years. This thought process explains why our on going education is not only good, but it is necessary. Thanks Ed for that thought that has stuck with me, and thanks Orrin and you Eric for creating this wonderful information.
    Don Fallis

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jason & Chris Winkler on February 17, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    Eric, so true on the thought processes that are taught to us in school. They had engrained the pass fail ideas so far into my thought process that by the time I had graduated from high school I was frozen with fear of moving onto something more and did not think I could succeed. LIFE has been such a wonderful teacher to show me I can succeed and now have the tools to do so. Thanks for putting together such a wonderful article.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Liz Moris on February 20, 2012 at 1:10 pm

    Great insight Eric and an important ingredient to success. The word failure has such a negative stigma and we all need to be “re-educated” about why failure is important, not be afraid of failure, but rather embrace the lessons learned from failures and use them as an instrument to grow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

