How Much Risk Are You Willing To Take For A Better Life?


Orrin Woodward posted a great blog article today titled, “LIFE: Downside Risk & Upside Reward”. Here is a brief excerpt:

“When I worked at Delphi division of GM, I completed half the classes for a Master’s degree in Business Administration from the University of Michigan. Although I received good grades and enjoyed the classes, I stopped pursuing my MBA in order to build my own business.

Many thought I was crazy to quit my MBA, but I just had a feeling that it was time for me to build my own business rather than continue to learn about business. In truth, I was ready to implement some of the principles that I had learned along with continuing my education in “the school of hard knocks”. 🙂

One of the best principles that I learned through my MBA program was to study business by asking two questions when studying any business:

1. What is the downside risk?
2. What is the upside reward?”

Many people go through life never asking themselves these two questions. They grow up, get a good education, get a good job and develop a lifestyle for themselves based upon what they have been taught their whole lives. They find themselves in a career that has high stress and high liability; that takes them away from their family for 60 – 80 hours per week; and that pays them “peanuts” for an annual income…high risk with low reward. And all this in today’s society is considered “normal”. Here’s what I’ve learned over the past decade being associated with Orrin Woodward…the above-described situation doesn’t have to be “normal” anymore. With the right information, the right business model, and the right leadership, life can be different, it can be low risk with unlimited reward…welcome to LIFE.

Make sure you check out Orrin Woodward’s article.

Your future awaits…go get it!

Have a great day and God bless, Eric Blomdahl

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Randy Collins on November 21, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    Thanks for another great outlook. You and Jen have given me and my family a glimpse of what a “normal” LIFE can look like and we will strive for it everyday.

    You rock!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Lisa Mangold, LIFE Member on November 21, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    I remember going through college and graduate school without ever asking these two questions, nor did anyone else ever propose such questions to me. Thanks to the information provided through LIFE, I now know the impact of considering the risks and rewards of each decision made. I cannot imagine not asking these questions as our family faces future decisions in life. In today’s economy, there is so much more at stake – people cannot afford to not ask these questions!

    Reply

  3. Having worked at GM myself for 32 years, each of these pictures are very vivid. Equal opportunity, different results. Difference? The decision to “Take Risk”

    Reply

  4. Posted by Jason & Chris Winkler on November 22, 2011 at 10:03 am

    Eric, thank you for leading the way and always being there for us. We look forward to changing what normal represents in the average home today by helping others see there is another way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

