Complainer? Not Me!

Orrin Woodward, Chris Brady, Tim Marks and the rest of the LIFE co-founders have selected yet another great book for us to read…“The No Complaining Rule” by Jon Gordon. The following is a great article written by Jennifer Blomdahl regarding Mr. Gordon’s book…enjoy!

I just finished reading the book “The No Complaining Rule” that recently came down on the Book of the Month program that is available to us through LIFE. I knew this book was for me when I opened up the package and read the title (you know that feeling in the pit of your stomach when you hear the “truth” about yourself and realize it’s time to change). I have had many of those moments and am sure as long as I am alive, I will have many more. Actually, through learning and growing, I’ve come to appreciate those moments. It’s like I have heard so many of our TEAM Leaders say, “If you want something to change in your life, then you must change something in your life.”

I really didn’t think I was a complainer. To my surprise after reading that book, I realized how much of a complainer I had become. You see, a big part of my personality is “gifted” at finding and identifying “problems”. That is okay as long as you are also seeking a solution. It doesn’t take much effort to find what’s wrong with the weather, with someone else, with me, with the kids, however, it takes quite a bit of concentrated effort to focus on the positives and to find what’s right with a person or situation.

One of the suggestions in Mr Gordon’s book is to “Let It Go”. First, make a list of those things you want to complain about. Then, identify those things that are within your control and come up with some possible solutions…an action plan. Finally, take those things that are not within your control and write the word “surrender” next to it and…Let It GO!

However, I would make one more suggestion. After your list is complete, talk with your mentor (someone who is where you want to be) and get their perspective. Make sure you’re action plan is on track. In my experience, there were things I didn’t think I had control over. After listening to me complain about them, my mentor would then help me see things from a different perspective. On some things, I didn’t have control, but I did have the ability to influence the situation. It’s like Orrin Woodward says, “You can lead a horse to water, but you can’t make it drink, however, you can add salt to the oats.”

At the end of that book there is a 7-day action plan with some great advice. I am going to spend the next seven days implementing those suggestions. I am going to challenge you to read that book and do the same. Maybe you’re just like me and felt that “something had to change in my life” and then realized, that “something” was…me.

Good Luck and God Bless, Jennifer Blomdahl

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jason & Chris Winkler on November 11, 2011 at 11:42 am

    Jennifer – you are such an amazing woman and now author! Great article!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Nic Manogue on November 11, 2011 at 11:57 am

    Jennier…that was a fantastic write-up…I thought the same thing when I got the book in the mail. I guess I gotta go and read it now! Thanks!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Chad Sutkay on November 11, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    Jennifer, Great review of the book of the month, Thank you for sharing and offering wisdom on this topic!!
    – Chad

    Reply

  4. Posted by Brad Moodie on November 11, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    Wow SO TRUE! I always thought I was a pretty positive person and yet when I think I about it I know I often complain about stuff just because it is a habbit. Thank you for the good advice and wisdom! I am so excited to now be on system and life! Keep up your work and God Bless you and your family!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Liz Moris on November 11, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    Great book and great insights. Thanks for sharing your heart on your leadership journey! It helps me to evaluate who I am, and the areas I need to be cognizant of and improve upon in my jouney. God bless! Liz Moris

    Reply

  6. Posted by Angie on November 14, 2011 at 9:47 pm

    This is an awesome book Jen! Great perspective! Thank you.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Sherry Pries on November 17, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    Great review Jen. Thanks so much. Just what I needed to hear today. Identifying the problem is only part of the solution. Thanks for filling in the rest. Get the info from great books & then apply & check up-line. Ladies, will be getting the book & calling you. Thanks for all you do. Sherry

    Reply

  8. Posted by Mary Hermsen on November 17, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    Great article, Jen. It sounds like you’ve grown a lot. I can’t imagine you complaining about anything! I haven’t read that book yet, but look forward to it. Good to see you and Eric out in ‘blogosphere’.
    Mary

    Reply

Leave a Reply

